Home Floorstanding
Speakers
Shelf
speakers
Drivers Dirac XT Midi Laplace XT Pascal Fermat Descartes II Stra To Cauchy 2

Fermat

The Story Of The Fermat

Quite a number of customers asked for a loudspeaker with sufficient bass and a high efficiency. To choose the right components wasn't difficult. After we had used 25 cm bass drivers for the kits listed in our previous newsletters, we this time went for a 20 cm driver. Then we added a tweeter with high efficiency and without any sharpness: the Alcone AC 15.

First we had to discuss how best to achieve the required efficiency of more than 90 dB (2.83V/1m). The easiest solution would be to use two bass drivers in parallel since, at a given voltage, 3 dB will be gained due to the doubled output. And if both are in phase (you might remember the Theory on our discussion pages) you'll gain even 6 dB. In other words, the efficiency will double.

How to arrange the drivers? A d'Appolito design is surely not suitable when using bass drivers of that size; this would strain the tweeter unnecessarily since it would have to kick in at a low frequency.

A three way design is also not a solution: the two bass drivers won't be allowed to operate together, meaning that the required 3 dB resp. 6 dB are not achieved.

Therefore we chose a 2 1/2 way design where midrange and bass drivers are working together over most of their frequency range.

But now the linearity of the AC 8 HE's frequency response gave us some headaches since this driver has a similar output over the entire utilised range. This causes the efficiency in the midrange, where only one AC 8 HE operates, to be insufficient.

The picture below shows the frequency response of a AC 8 HE that is cut-off at 2.2 kHz in purple; in blue the AC 8 HE cut-off at 1.4 kHz. The green line indicates the tweeter's frequency response. The overlapping drivers are represented by the red, higher positioned curve.

When only one driver is operating the red line drops down to the level of just on driver (over the entire high frequency range). If only the midrange driver is playing and the frequency range is wider, then the sound pressure level drops down to the purple line.

The frequency range where only the midrange is playing should, therefore, not be too narrow or, in other words: the bass driver should reach almost up to the tweeter, otherwise the output in the overlapping area would drop too much. Fermat
Picture 1: the Fermat's individual and total frequency responses.

At first, the high cut-off frequency of the bass driver gave rise for plenty discussions. In comparison with other speakers, however, no drawbacks were audible or noticeable.

The crossover

Fermat
Picture 2: the Fermat's crossover

The fermat's crossover was designed and simulated with Clio and measured using the finished speaker.Fermat

Absolutely mandatory was that all drivers were in phase within their individual frequency ranges. Two drivers at a time had to have a 6 dB higher output at their intersections compared to the individual driver - phase response is then ideal.

The cabinet

The cabinet should be braced adequately to suppress unwanted vibration.

Each bracing panel ought to have 4 cut-outs to ensure free airflow, still providing adequate reinforcement.

The two bracing panels required should be placed with slightly different spacing to avoid standing waves.
Further information is available on the following pages:
Description     Building Instruction     Lab Results    

Copyright © Iris Strassacker 2006. All rights reserved.

Dirac XT Midi Fermat Descartes II Stra To Cauchy 2

Fermat

Entwicklungsgeschichte der Fermat

Eine Box mit ausreichend Bass und mit hohem Wirkungsgrad - das war der Wunsch einer Reihe von Kunden. Die Wahl fiel nicht schwer. Nachdem in den vorangehenden Newslettern 25 cm Tieftöner zum Einsatz kamen, waren nun 20 cm angesagt. Dazu einen Hochtöner ohne Schärfe mit hohem Wirkungsgrad: Alcone AC 15.

Zuerst wurde darüber diskutiert, wie man einen Wirkungsgrad über 90 dB bei (2,83V/1m) am besten erreicht. Eine einfache Lösung ist das parallel Schalten zweier Tieftöner, da man hier bei vorgegebener Spannung nicht nur 3 dB wegen der doppelten Leistung (beide nehmen ja Leistung auf), sondern sogar 6 dB gewinnt, wenn sie in Phase spielen (Aus unseren Diskussionsseiten kennen Sie die Theorie dazu). Man erhält somit eine Verdoppelung des Wirkungsgrads.

Wie sollen die Lautsprecherchassis nun angeordnet werden? Eine d'Appolito-Anordnung mit 2-Wege-Weiche ist für derart große Tieftöner sicher ungeeignet; der Hochtöner müsste tief angekoppelt werden, was ihn sicher überfordert.

Eine 3-Wege-Lösung lässt die beiden Tieftonlautsprecher nicht zusammen spielen, womit wir die oben genannten 3 obzw. 6 dB nicht gewinnen.

Somit haben wir eine 2 1/2 Wege Lösung gewählt, bei der der Mittel- und der Tieftöner über den größten Frequenzbereich parallel spielen.

Hier hat uns die Linearität im Frequenzgang des AC 8 HE Probleme bereitet; denn er ist über den gesamten genutzten Bereich ähnlich laut. Das Problem dabei: Im mittleren Frequenzbereich wo ein AC 8 HE alleine spielt, ist der Wirkungsgrad nicht ausreichend.

Im Bild unten ist in violettem Kurvenzug ein AC 8 HE gezeichnet, der bei 2,2 kHz abgetrennt wird; daneben in blau ein AC 8 HE bei Trennung um 1,4 kHz. Die grüne Kurve gibt den Frequenzgang des Hochtöners wieder. Durch die Überlagerung der Lautsprecher ergibt sich die höher liegende, rot dargestellte Kurve.

Dort, wo nur noch ein Lautsprecher den Schalldruck erzeugt fällt die rote Linie auf die Höhe des einen Lautsprechers ab (im gesamten Hochtonbereich). Ist der Bereich des Mitteltöners, wo nur er wieder gibt breiter, so fällt der Schalldruck ebenso auf die Höhe der violetten Linie ab.

Der Übertragungsbereich in dem nur der Mitteltöner spielt, durfte somit nicht zu eng gewählt werden - oder anders ausgedrückt: Der Tieftöner musste im Frequenzgang fast bis zum Hochtöner hinauf reichen, da sonst der Pegel in Übergangsbereich zu weit abgefallen wäre. Fermat
Bild 1: Frequenzgang der einzelnen Lautsprecher und Gesamtfrequenzgang der Fermat.

Die hohe Trennung des Tieftöners lies anfangs viele Diskussionen aufkommen, jedoch im Vergleichstest mit den anderen Boxen war dies nicht als Nachteil erkenn- oder hörbar.

Die Frequenzweiche

Fermat
Bild 2: Frequenzweiche zur Fermat

Gemäß den Messungen die mit Clio an der fertigen Box durchgeführt wurden wurde die Weiche simuliert und aufgebaut. Fermat

Dabei wurde darauf geachtet, dass alle Lautsprecher im jeweiligen Übergangsbereich in Phase spielen, jeweils zwei Lautsprecher haben im Kreuzungsbereich einen um 6 dB erhöhten Schallpegel gegenüber den einzelnen Lautsprechern - der Phasenübergang ist dann perfekt.

Das Gehäuse

Das Gehäuse sollte möglichst gut verstrebt sein um unanfällig gegenüber Schwingungen zu sein.

Dazu wurde es mit Brettchen versehen, die jeweils 4 Fenster haben - somit sind die Versteifungsbrettchen keine Hindernis für die Luftzirkulation, jedoch haben sie eine hohe versteifende Wirkung für das Boxengehäuse.

Es wurden zwei Brettchen eingebracht, die mit leicht unterschiedlichem Abstand montiert wurden, so dass sich keine Schwingungsbäuche ausbilden können.
Alle weiteren Informationen finden Sie
in der Fermat-Beschreibung     der Baubeschreibung     oder bei den Messwerten    

© Iris Strassacker 2006. All rights reserved.